Sometimes I look for learning in all the wrong places. For instance, I recently finished Amy Poehler’s Yes Please and I learned bunches. Some things that will help me professionally and some that just made me roll with laughter. I love reading and gleaning tidbits from unusually sources.

My current book is The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown. This book is a biography of Joe Rantz, who was on the US crew team in the 1936 Berlin Olympics. It is an interesting and inspiring story of a boy who looked ahead rather than looking back. A boy who never felt sorry for himself, he accepted what was and focused on what he could control.

These two books couldn’t be more different, other than they are true stories (well, Amy may have exaggerated here and there), but I enjoyed them equally. I plan to continue my quest to learn and grow professionally and personally through reading this summer. Truth be told though, I often find myself seeking a hidden treasure rather than the latest and greatest title that everyone is talking about.

What hidden treasure have you found recently?

One thought on “Looking for Learning in All the Wrong Places…

  1. “A Man Called Ove” by Frederick Bachman….an amazing story of a man who thinks life isn’t worth living after his wife passes. But memorable characters, humorous storytelling, and a sincerity about life (in all its ups and downs) and how relationships impact us daily, makes this a must read for everyone!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

